A Mitzvah Menorah for Hanukkah, created out of empty soda cans by students of JCC art director Octavia Beard, is on display in the Jewish Community Center lobby, 2000 Hollywood Drive, Spring Garden Township. Cards for groceries, gasoline and other necessities are being collected through Thursday for families who participate in Jewish Family Services' Project Manna food pantry. They will be distributed in time for Hanukkah, which beings at sundown Dec. 20. Pictured are, front row from left, Kayla Haugh and Makyli Johnson; and back row, Jacqui Davis, Ahmirie Hopson, Katrina Richardson, Chamyla Dickson and Ruby McKeown..(SUBMITTED)

Jewish Family Services of York honored its volunteers at its 23rd annual meeting. Pictured are adult volunteers, first row from left, Mindi Haines, Jeff Blum, Trish Arbetman, Rosalee Leeds, Diane Friedman and Susan Rosen Seigel; second row, Ron and Tracy Benenson, Stephanie Feinman, Iris Katz, Arlene Domue, Miriam Hammels, Lore Gutmann, Gail Laskin, Phyllis Williams, Carol Levinbook and Lois Krechmer; and third row, Ken Brein, Marilyn Neuburger, Steve Wolf, Debbie Sherman, Sharon Cullison, Joan Milner, Toby Reigart, Alyson Rubin, Stephanie Rudley, Josh Krechmer, Alan and Lore Britton, Ray Manus, Esther Furman, Felix Milner and Eddie Leeds. (SUBMITTED)

Jewish Family Services of York honored its volunteers at its 23rd annual meeting. Pictured are youth volunteers, first row from left, Jenna Furman, Zoe Caplan, Tara Fowler and Paxson Feinman; and second row, Aleeza Furman, Phoebe Caplan, Kiah Fowler, Jacob Arbetman, Jason Weiss, David Rudley, Elan Azriel, Jacob Azriel, Matthew Feinman, Abby Arbetman, Holden Caplan and Tyler Weiss. (SUBMITTED)

Three students from New Oxford High School won the 4th annual Diversity Summit 2012 logo posters contest. Pictured are, from left, Karla Castillo, first place; Ernesto Garcia, second place; and Jessica Ojeda, third place. The students won monetary prizes and were recognized at the November meeting of the Conewago Valley School Board.(SUBMITTED)

Thirty-six students representing 18 York County high schools are members of Leadership York's 2012 Future Leaders of York class. The program for sophomores and juniors develops leadership and decision-making skills, prepares students for community participation, fosters philanthropic actions and strengthens their connection to York County. Pictured are students at their opening retreat in Mount Gretna, first row from left, Emily Smith, Dallastown Area High School; Katti DeFelice, York Catholic High School; Cheyanna Snyder, Northeastern Senior High School; second row, Ben Raver, Central York High School; Geoffrey Rappoldt, Spring Grove Area Senior High School; Rachel Wible, Central York; Stephanie Rhoades, Red Lion Area Senior High School; Alexis Cable, Spring Grove Area Senior High School; Brianna Weaver, West York Area High School; Shannon Kirkpatrick, Dallastown; Sydney Shade, Red Land High School; and Emily Kepner, West York; third row, Jacob Sterner, Dover Area High School; Bobby Kinsley, York Country Day School; Ian Bogle, Northeastern Senior High School; Alex Walsh, Kennard-Dale High School; Nate Barnhart, South Western High School; Alex Searer, Eastern York High School; Erin Merkle, York Suburban Senior High School; Jordan Miller, Christian School of York; Megan Bresnahan, York Catholic; Tanique Thames, William Penn Senior High School; Alex Iula, Dallastown; Maggie Fenning, Eastern York; and Ebon Proctor, William Penn; and back row, Dan Ferraro, Susquehannock High School; Matt Thomas, Central York; Chris Covert, York Suburban; Mark Rooney, Red Lion; Dylan Hartlaub, York County School of Technology; Dominic Santoleri, Red Land High School; Malachi Thomas, York County Tech; Abbey Barnhart, Susquehannock High School; Levi Rentzel, Christian School; and Larissa Miller, Dover. Not pictured is Kelsey Sersen, South Western.(SUBMITTED)